What Is CIE?

-Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) is a part of the world-renowned  University of Cambridge, U.K. and is among the world’s leading providers of   International qualifications and assessments. They are the oldest and the largest International Exam board, conducting 2.25 million exams a year in 160 countries. CIE  offers IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) for Grade  9 and 10, AS & A level (Advanced Subsidiary & Advanced respectively) qualifications for Grades 11 and 12. The structure & content of CIE Syllabus is such that it does not put too much stress on students yet draws out successfully the best within them.

What are the programmes offered by CIE?

There are 4 Programmes offered by CIE (Cambridge International Examinations):

Cambridge Primary: age range: 5-11 years.

Cambridge Secondary 1: age range 11-14 years.

Cambridge Secondary 2 (IGCSE): age range 14-16 years.

 Cambridge Advanced: age range 16-19 years.

There are checkpoints at the end of Cambridge Primary and Cambridge  Secondary 1 (middle school) programmes to assess the learning of the children.

Which CIE programmes are offered at Deccan International School?

The school has been offering IGCSE (for Grades 8, 9 and 10), AS and A Levels (for Grades 11 and 12) for the past five years. Beginning next year the school will offer the Cambridge Secondary 1 curriculum for Grade 7.

What is IGCSE?

International General Certificate of Secondary Education.
This is an International set of exams developed by Cambridge University and is     equivalent to GCSE in the UK.

It is a comprehensive two-year programme, spread over Grades 9 and 10, leading to the final examinations taken at Grade 10 level.

It is a globally recognized qualification, similar to the Class 10 examinations of the SSLC, ICSE, CBSE, British GCSE, International GCE O Level examinations or the Middle Years Programme of the IB.

All Indian Boards and Universities accept IGCSE ‘as equivalent to SSLC/ICSE/CBSE’.

The IGCSE programme has worldwide status and credibility. In India, the course is delivered in over 130 schools with the number rising each year.

Worldwide, it is delivered in schools in over 160 countries and is recognised by colleges and universities in India and everywhere, more so in the USA, UK and other Commonwealth countries.

How is the Cambridge curriculum implemented at Deccan International School?

Grade 7: Grade 7 students will follow the Secondary 1 curriculum of Cambridge for English, Math and Science. The rest of the subjects will be based on the ICSE syllabus. Towards the end of Grade 7 students will be given an option to choose between the IGCSE curriculum and the ICSE curriculum.

Grade 8: Grade 8 at Deccan is called the Foundation IGCSE. Students of Grade 8 take the Checkpoint Examination of Cambridge in the month of October. 

When are the IGCSE exams taken?

IGCSE is a two year programme spread over grades 9 and 10 and the final exams are taken in Grade 10. Exams are conducted worldwide in the June series, November  series and March series (India Only). Schools can decide which series the students take up the examination.

Does IGCSE have worldwide recognition?

IGCSE is recognised by most of the leading Universities worldwide including Indian Universities.

What are the subject groups in IGCSE?

There are five Subject Groups in IGCSE with several subjects to choose from:

Group 1:  Languages (First Language, Second Language, Foreign Language, etc)

Group 2:  Humanities and Social Sciences (Geography, English Literature, History, etc)

Group 3:  Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, etc)

Group 4:  Mathematics (Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, etc)

Group 5:  Creative, Technical and Vocational (Accounting, Business Studies, Computer Studies, Music, etc)

How are assessments done in IGCSE?

Assessments are not limited to conventional written exams. They consist of oral and listening tests as well in certain subjects. A student has to pass 5 subjects in order  to earn the IGCSE certificate. A student who attempts and passes 7 or more subjects is awarded the prestigious ICE (International Certificate of Education).

What are the advantages of IGCSE?

It is the most sought-after and recognised qualification in the world.

Involves a variety of assessment techniques to test oral and practical- skills, initiative and problem solving ability, application of skills, knowledge and understanding. Thus it does away with rote memory and mugging.

Curriculum is balanced and lends an international perspective to studies.

Takes into account the differing abilities of students.

What are the options available after IGCSE?

A student who has passed IGCSE is eligible for any 10+2 level qualification like:    Local   Boards PUC – Class 12 CBSE/ ISC. Or International pre-university programs like IBDP   and AS/ A levels (UK)

What are A level exams?

A level is equivalent to Grade 12 in India and is completed over 2 years with AS    (Advanced Subsidiary Level) in the first year and A2 in the second year.

Does any other University accept IGCSE & A/AS LEVELS qualifications?

All recognized universities accept students with IGCSE/AS/A level qualifications.

The following is extracted from the notification provided by the Ministry of Human Resource Development website ― As per the AIU (Association of Indian Universities). 5(five) passes at IGCSE with Grade A, B or C and minimum 2 (two) passes at A level examination of the British examining bodies is equivalent to +2 stage qualification which is the minimum eligibility requirement for admission to Bachelor degree programme at Indian Universities.

Recognitions according to CIE can be found here:

What about -

a.      Text books 

 Text books are published by leading publishers like CUP, Oxford and are easily available. School will provide the required text books, but we do advise students not to limit their studies to the prescribed text book alone but to make use of other reference books available in the library as well.

 b.     Teacher Qualification and Training :

 A teacher requires minimum qualifications as per Indian Standards.

The teachers are sent for face to face trainings conducted by CIE and are given in-house training to equip them to deliver lessons in an enquiry based and a practical approach format.

 Deccan teachers have also completed CIDTT – the Cambridge International Diploma to equip themselves to deliver the curriculum effectively.

CIE also provides to the schools and its teachers a secure login for access to teaching materials, past papers and marks schemes, examiners reports, training materials etc.

For more information click here:www.cie.org.uk